Capture and Re-capture Memories with Coasters

Living in such a fast-paced world, it’s almost impossible to see someone who DOESN’T own a smartphone. With smartphones, come hundreds of free apps! Needless to say, Instagram is one such app that simply cannot be resisted.

I am one such Instagram fiend and I found an alternative way to post my photos, and get 10 times the followers 😉

Materials I used:

  • Pictures from Instagram
  • 4”x4” tiles (I had a few extras at home, but you can easily get them from Home Depot for under 30 cents each!)
  • Mod Podge (from Michaels)
  • Paint brush  (which you probably already have)
  • Felt stickers
  • Water Proof Sealant  (also from Home Depot)

What I did:

  1. I got my photos printed at my nearby printing store (London Drugs) to fit the tile size (4”x4”)
  2. Applied a layer of the Mod Podge with my paint brush on the tile
  3. Pressed a photo firmly onto a tile
  4. Painted a layer of Mod Podge on the photo and let it dry for about 25 minutes. Mind you, initially the Mod Podge appears white, but don’t worry, it dries clear
  5. Sprayed a thin coat of Water Proof Sealant on the photo
  6. Finally, I stuck on felt stickers on 4 corners of the underside of the tile

 

As eye-catching as these coasters are, I find them to be such amazing conversation starters. Not only that, they also are a great way to re-live some of your most cherished moments.

Leave a Reply

