Inspired by simplicity

I used to be one of the grumpy ones too, until I found my inspiration from a little child and his self-made toy with which he played on the sidewalks of Moi Avenue. As you might have read, I’ve been born and brought up in Kenya and moved to Vancouver a little less than two years ago.

I was just about to cross the road, with two large grocery bags in my hand when the little boy caught my eye. He was joyfully pulling behind him a little car made out of Kellogg’s Cornflakes cereal box with wheels made out of circles cut out from rubber flip-flops, a flattened plastic bottle for the windshield with two little match sticks attached as wipers. I hurriedly crossed the road, hopped into the backseat of my car and quickly turned to see the little boy’s creation once again, before my mom would drive away. I got home and began sorting the groceries and  just as I pulled out my Kellogg’s Cornflakes cereal box, I smiled to myself and wondered if it was remotely possible that this box would end up in the little boy’s hands from which he would be able to make a second car for himself.

I was only going to recycle, but this little kid creatively recycled.

Leave a Reply

